Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the Officers, three at-large members from the Board, and the Membership, Program, and Legal and Tax Directors, the General Counsel, and the previous year's Chairman.

2019 AFIRE Executive Committee


Donald M. Wise, President and Chief Executive Officer, Metzler Real Estate

Deputy Chairman

Martin J. Brühl, Managing Director and Chief Investment Officer, Union Investment Real Estate GmbH


Karen Horstmann, Portfolio Manager, Norges Bank Investment Management

Corporate Secretary

Stephen Taylor, Vice President, Real Estate Healthcare of Ontario Pension Plan (HOOPP)

Members at Large

Ignacio Diego, Chief Executive Officer, Avila Real Estate, LLC

Jane Gavan, Chief Executive Officer, Dream Global REIT

Kai-yan Lee, Managing Director, Vanke

General Counsel

Frederick L. Klein, Partner DLA Piper LLP (US)

Director of Programs

R. Byron Carlock, Jr., Principal, PwC

Director of Membership

Christopher R. Ludeman, Global President, Capital Markets CBRE

Director of Legal and Tax

Bruce Gelman, Partner, Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Prior Year Chairman

Edward M. Casal, Senior Advisor, Aviva Investors

Meetings & Conferences

2019 Winter Conference

Mandarin Oriental, NY
New York, NY
February 6-7, 2019

2019 MIPIM Brunch

Hotel Barrière Le Majestic
Cannes, France
March 14, 2019

2019 European Conference

Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Frankfurt, Germany
June 4-5, 2019

2019 Annual Membership Meeting

Seattle Sheraton Hotel
Seattle, WA
September 10-12, 2019

Event Registration

  • Mar

    AFIRE Brunch at MIPIM 2019 Thursday, March 14, 2019 -- 9:00am-11:00am In the Dinard Sal...